Search the forum,

Discuss Can’t find filling loop on sealed system in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Deleted member 96859

Hi

Self confessed novice here!
Radiators at the top of our house are cold, the rest are fine. Only second winter with loft extension (where cold radiators are), last winter same thing happened but the builders were still here and they topped up system after we drained air from cold radiators.

PROBLEM: I’ve read up on topping up our closed system but cannot find a filling loop/hose anywhere. Help! Not draining the radiators until I’m sure I know how to refill. Can anyone help please?

Pics of above and below the boiler are attached.

BOILER/SYSTEM BACKGROUND
New boiler (not Combi) year before loft extension, installed by BG engineer in some way that no other engineer could fathom when they kept being called out because it wasn’t working, so they came back and changed it to a closed system. Could they not perhaps have installed a filling loop??? I feel like I remember the builders using a good ol’ garden hose, but maybe that’s wrong. Really hope so...

6850AE6D-EA17-4E3D-928B-BB4C9F2FF0F1.jpeg

60052724-B598-43D7-BFB0-D474FF23DE53.jpeg

Airing cupboard

Should be a silver braided hose with either one or two valves

But tbh it looks like you have enough pressure in the pic

Was the pic taken with the heating off ?

Hi

Thanks for speedy reply.
Yep ive been looking for the threaded hose, no joy. Wondering if there’s some alternative valve they’ve installed and neglected to mention!

Pressure is fine now as I assume top radiators are full of air. Not going to bleed them until I know where to refil, or pressure will drop and I’ll have no heating anywhere... I think?! Right?

Yep heating is off.
Forgot to mention we have a compression cylinder for hot water, not near to boiler. Only hoses on that are well and truly attached obviously! But just in-case it’s relevant.