Discuss Brand New To Forum Hoping For Help in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone.

I hope this is the right section to post this, so here goes. If not, my apologies, newbie here.

I am removing a radiator in my 1995 wimpy house (Im sure that strikes terror into the heart of any experienced builder) for decorating purposes. Let's just say they never mist coated the dry walls so the paint is essentially wallpaper and its cracked badly.

Here are some pics prior to removal:

IMG_0083.jpg IMG_0084.jpg

From what I can tell, this seems like a standard non thermostat fitting.

I've closed off both valves and cracked open the nuts both at ends, as seen in the above pics (also opened bleed valve), let the water drain out, so the radiator is now empty. So far so good.

I've had a friend help prise the pipes apart as they were a very tight fit (they seemed spring loaded into the radiator due to the close pipe fitting).

I was then thinking of changing the manky Stainless Steel valves? To fresh looking ones, since decorating the room but this is where the fun will really start, i.e. more serious pluming.

Here is a pic of the radiator connector ports? (not sure of nomenclature).

IMG_0092.jpg IMG_0093.jpg IMG_0094.jpg

Now, I cannot seem to get the nuts off either end and I assume that's because there is an olive? Clamped to both ends stopping this.

This however shouldn't be an issue as I need to remove the whole piece from within the radiator, that being what a plumbers wrench? Is used for. I can see ptfe? tape coming out of both radiator ports, so I assume something has been screwed into both ends.

I'm going to go ahead and assume that I unwind those inserts out of the radiator as they will be replaced with the new valve kits I buy.