Search the forum,

Discuss Boiler questions: pipes and purpose in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

First question: What is the "ball thing" on the fourth copper pipe along.

Also: I have identified the flow to my radiators as being the left-most pipe that is 22mm and the return as the right-most 22mm copper pipe (fifth one along), then the heating for my taps as the 15mm next to my radiator flow (second along) (also are they (the pipes) usually situated in these positions?). My next question is what the most likely purpose of the remaining three are, there is another pipe off shot I think right next to the rad return.

Some assumptions (that I need advice on haha):
I'm guessing the nice 22mm copper pipe in the center supplies gas most likely.
And the white plastic pipe is a kind of polyvinyl chloride, probably uPVC as I also guess it's an overflow pipe.

Cheers to all who help.

And also sorry if I'm completely wrong about anything/everything, I'm a newbie to this subject. Please no hurt.

IMG_20180908_012735.jpg

Are you planning something, or just curious?

Condensate drain from boiler
Heating (flow 0r return)
Hot to taps
Gas
Cold main in, with shock arrestor to prevent hammer in pipes (sometimes in manufacturers instructions)
Heating (return or flow)
Pressure relief discharge, should go out through the wall.

Shock arrestor just to add to kop information, is often needed because the Combi boiler heats the water as it flows through the boiler. With houses etc there is often a non return valve in the water meter for obvious reasons. If the boiler is on pre heat or comfort it will warm up the water in the heat exchanger which would expand and that expansion needs to go into the arrestor ie mini expansion vessel.
We have exactly the same thing in our boiler inlet.

Are you planning something, or just curious?

Condensate drain from boiler
Heating (flow 0r return)
Hot to taps
Gas