Search the forum,

Discuss Boiler not registering a hot water tap being turned on. in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi All,

Before we start I will admit that I am a total novice when it comes to plumbing but before I call someone out I want to try and see if it is something simple. I have a triton mixer shower and when the tap is turned all the way to hot it doesn’t effect the temperature at all! It remains freezing cold. When I go to the combi boiler I see that it hasn’t even registered that hot water is needed and hadn’t kicked in.. I have attached images of the mixer valve. Do you think it is a mixer or boiler issue? Water is fine in another shower upstairs and the hot water does come through in the sink and bath in the same room. I can post more pictures if needed.

Thanks

B2B9B40B-E46D-4189-9D78-6B40AA50A03F.jpeg

84AF003A-0D1A-460B-9FCA-815AC63D95F6.jpeg

Do your other hot water taps work ?

Sounds like a shower issue

If the other taps are getting hot. Probably the shower thermostat/filter blocked or stuck non return valve.

If it's a blocked filter or non-return valve, then I'd expect very little flow when the shower is set to run hot.

Andy: is this the case?

Hi All, the water flow rate in the shower is fine. Really powerful actually.. The hot water tap on the sink and bath in the same room run fine and the combi boiler kicks in. You have to only slightly open the valve on the bath hot water tap to get it to warm up though. The shower has never run hot since i moved into to property. I have always used the ensuite shower but finally want to see if i can sort it. The chap who had it before was a builder and carried out alot of the work himself and it wouldn't surprise me if he had bodged it as i have found random wiring and work not carried out to a high standard elsewhere in the property! :(