Search the forum,

Discuss Boiler coming on for a minute or so then going out in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
F

Flanners

Hi guys im a gas safe qualified engineer and have been for the past 15 years. I recently done my OFTEC as I had a few installs coming up and also have some this year.

I had a call from a customer with Thermecon OS60/80 which has blown out due to the high winds. The boiler flue is in a high pressure zone but ill not stay on for more hat 1-2 mins once reset. Im going out tomorrow morning but just wanted to a if this has been come across by anyone?

Thanks!!

Might be photocell sooted. If boiler hasnt been able to get poc away for high winds. Might be coil. Really need to be in front of it with pressure gauge in and hear it go through the motions.

Flanners, get in the gas safe forum and the plumbers arms to be......err more credible while asking technical questions!

Check the filter, could just be bad timing.

Again need to be in front of it.....but if its staying on for a min or more doesn't sound like pe cell.... could be a circulating pump issue!!!

From memory.
os just means its a system boiler

It will also be sealed so check that it hasn't lost pressure and cooked the pump.

If the pressure is high or you want to recharge the expansion vessel dont operate the prv on these because they never seal, use a drain off.

if its the conventional flue check they have actually used a liner and not poked the first bit of cast up the chimney, something night have fallen in.

I doubt the air adjustment has been disturbed as if memory served these have a miser? Burner installed with a bolt you have to slacken off to adjust it

Maybe getting too complicated, - I would start with the obvious, -
Is the burner needing reset? If it is, then it is the burner that has a fault.
Check photocell is clean.
Check burner is actually igniting a flame.
Check ignition working.