Search the forum,

Discuss Blocked Urinal Waste Pipe in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

Tony73

Hello

I recently did a job in a 2 bowl auto flushing urinal system in a small commercial unit. The waste pipe was blocked solid with urine crystal/congealed stuff. I had to cut the pipe to get access and the replaced the waste pipe and S bends. All worked well with the urinals coping with the flush and everything draining away fine.

today I got a call that the urinals were overflowing when the cistern flushed down. The pipe is blocked again after 2 weeks. There is a WC that feeds into the same waste stack as the Urinals.

Can anyone suggest why this might be blocked again so quickly and what my best course of action is before I go back to sort out.

Any help greatfully recieved as I'm a Urinal novice just trying to help a mate out.

I don't know I'm afraid, someone else with be along shortly with some good advice. I just want to ask: When you cut that pipe I bet it smelled beauuuuutiful?

I only ask because I've never touched urinal work but my tutor at the training centre who had 50 years experience in all aspects of plumbing said the worse smell in plumbing comes from a urinal waste.

The problem with urine waste is that it congeals into a horrible, smelly jelly and is extremely hard to remove. It clogs up waste pipes like a dam. With modern water saving flush systems, if the building is unoccupied for any length of time e.g holidays etc then the traps and waste pipes can block up and smell as water isn't flushing as much.