Search the forum,

Discuss best value solar thermal panels and heat pumps in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mike_s

Hi, looking to sit courses for these soon. I want to know which are the best value as I'm sure this will be key to selling them, making the pay back times shorter.

I hear Mitsubishi ecodans and Grant air source are good but how do they compare pricewise compared to others and the likes of Worcester.

I am a Worcester Accredited installer and their courses are only £200 each but I may not bother if they arn't competitive pricewise.

I may be sitting the courses at Southport College as it's local and they have a new renewables training center open but their courses are £600 each! Albeit they are 4 day courses so I expect them to be more thorough and well balanced than Worcester who will only promote their products.

the college courses would be either bpec or logic competent person schemes the manufacturers would be product specific if you want MCS registration do the college courses if not I would do the cheaper manufacturers course

I will be going for MCS registration next year, the Worcester courses are Logic aswell I think.
Anyway, if I decide to go for a manufacturer course, which is best? Considering if their products are good value too.

I attended the Worcester course, came away with a Logic qualification

SDHW1LS Solar Heating Limited Scope Fully-Filled CollectorSystems valid for 5 years.

I dont know how that equates to the college courses available.

The course gave me the reqd skills to install my own 2 panel system using Worcester products without any installation issues at all, all I was lacking was the experience on which were the best sealing pastes to use.

Thanks, good to hear. I may well end up doing both, probs the bigger course first as I think I will learn more so won't be money wasted.