Search the forum,

Discuss Annoying customer in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ric2013

Plumbers Arms member
Plumber
So I go out to quote on installing some showers.

The customer has about 5 minutes to discuss it with me and gives me about 5 minutes to have a look at the loft cisterns and airing cupboard and that's it and I have to go.

So I send some estimates for various options, electric, power showers, mixers and separate pump, saying I'll do a quote when the customer has decided which option she prefers the sound of.

Customer decides she wants one power shower and one electric so I quote on that. I also give a quote for a thermostatic mixer shower and separate pump because I think it's a better option than a power shower. I say I won't be wiring ANYTHING because I'm not an electrician.

Customer has had alternative quote, which is fine by me, but it's not in any way comparible. Included are bath taps (when was this discussed and can I even get to them?) and now it's two thermostatic mixers run off one pump, but the model of pump the other quote specifies is not suitable to run both showers at the same time. Also, this alternative quote makes no reference to brands, except for the pump, so I am assuming the cheapest of the cheap and I don't really want to compete on that basis. And it includes wiring of shower pump (no mention of any bonding). Oh, can I quote on the same please?

I can't make out if I'm in the running for this and she just wants to check my price is okay (my labour charges will probably be cheaper, but I have quoted on high quality materials which will push the price up), or if I'm just being used to try to beat down another price.