Search the forum,

Discuss Air Source Heat Pump in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

Leoki

Hello

I am a general domestic plumber and i have a customer who i am trying to assist with information regards their Air Source Heat Pump.

The customers are both elderly in their late 70's early 80's and they live in a detatched property with 5 bedrooms built circa 1920. The property has cavity wall insulation and some but not a great deal of loft insulation. The windows are mainly single glazed except for a couple of windows which have secondary glazing.

The couple had a Daikin Altherma air source heat pump installed in July 2009 to replace their then aged gas fired boiler. There is also a Heat Rae Sadia electric water heater incorporated into the system. Since the pump was installed they have struggled to achieve the heating and hot water that they hoped to get.

I understand how the technology works but i am not an installer. I know that heat pumps provide a lower mean water temperate, typically about 55 degrees celcius.

The company that installed the system gained their MCS certification in 2010 after the installation so i do not believe the customer can claim for any benefits from the renewable heat incentive scheme which will hopefully get going this year ?

I feel that the couple have been sold a product that is not suitable for their situation/requirement. Given the age of the building and the potential for heat loss as good as the technology is it is never going to provide what this couple need.