Search the forum,

Discuss Advice on generating oil work for OFTEC technician in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

JD89

Gentlemen, ladies...

I'm an OFTEC technician and I work for a self employed guy who's Gas Safe, at the moment there's very little oil work coming our way, mainly gas.

Now we've spoken before and he said if there was a lot more work with oil coming through my earnings could potentially go up so it's in my best interest to push for more oil work.

Thing is I have no business experience so what could I do to help myself get more oil work in?

Regards!

I would put out an offer of a discounted service. Any customer that comes up you can get on your books for a standard service next year. As you already would know you will find lots of faults doing this to and you can hopefully get paid to put them right.

Advertising is a good start.

Half the time people don't know actually what you do.

Are you a registered business with Oftec, or have you only done the course. If its the later, then you must register with them as a technician and business. Without this, you cannot use the Oftec logos on anything as that then comes under the false advertising law.....

Thanks for the replies.

Yeah I'm registered with OFTEC, our work-wear, van and website has the OFTEC logo on them, I even announced being OFTEC on our social media page. We do get calls now and again but I was hoping to up it a bit. I'll get some fliers sorted out and hand them out in the villages surrounding our town.

I don't get involved with Oil, but like LPG it all depends on location, Parts of Devon & Cornwall have a lot of Oil, other parts of country have virtually none So it's all to do with where you cover.

In my area it's mainly natural gas but then once you go into the rural areas it's oil and LPG ... The rural area isn't that far from where we're based so it'll be good to tap into these small villages.