Search the forum,

Discuss Advice on courses and qualifications to take? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Gul94

Hi all,

I'm new here and I've found people here to be helpful thankfully.

I am wondering as I will be enrolling and taking a course in lvl 2 plumbing as I'm a total novice then move onto lvl 3.

Apart from these qualifications are there any others I should do or look to get into?

I have taken the advice to work for a firm after completion for at least 10 years before I branch into self employment.

At the moment I only know the role of being a plumber or a gas engineer but I will take an advanced diploma hopefully one day and get a degree and move further up in the field.

Any help?

I'm 23 btw.

My uncle has recently finished his PHD in his field and he is 40 years old.

I believe life if a marathon and not a sprint so I'm not looking for success overnight.

Thanks!

Have you found employment in the industry first before you attend college ?

No

unfortunately apprenticeship schemes are hard to come by atm but I will keep looking.

I would like to ideally do an apprenticeship and gain the qualifications but if I can't find one in time I'll have to enrol in a legit college and find my way from there.

How do you advice I start?

Regards

Get the job first, however difficult it is do not start a course without the ability to work as a plumbing trainee at the same time.
Whatever you are told or think you can not learn to be a plumber at a training centre.

Yes get a job first!
If you can't get one now, you won't get one in three years either. It will be a waste of time.

Also you will only be able to do part of level 2, without a job. You can't complete it and go onto level three, without working with a plumber for a year and a day.

Yes get a job first!
If you can't get one now, you won't get one in three years either. It will be a waste of time.