Search the forum,

Discuss Advice needed - Santon Premier TP210E Unvented Water Heater in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Gracechurch

Hi,

Firstly, thank you in advance for reading and any advice is greatly appreciated.

I have recently purchased a flat with only electric and the hot water comes from the Santon Premier Unvented Water Heater (model number TP210E). As I am new to this I was wondering what is the most cost effective way of running it.

I am not 100% sure if it charges only on my economy 7 (which runs from 12.30am - 7.30am), but I don't think it does as I have noticed the meter going up from when I leave home to when I return at the end of the day. This seems to be causing high electric bills (or at least I believe this is the cause).

I have switched it off in the morning but I didn't have enough hot water to wash up in the evening when i got home, so I wondered if it fills up with cold water when turned off thus nullifying the hot water stored in the tank.

Is it more efficient to keep it on all the time, only switch it on to heat up when needed or switch it on at night before going to bed?

I am unsure how to check if the water system uses the economy 7 to only charge. But I also wondered if there is a problem as it sounds like it is constantly doing something when switched on?

many thanks
Tom

Last edited by a moderator:
The cylinder should have two electric immersion heaters:

1. Near the bottom of the cylinder. This should be connected to the Economy 7 circuit, and will only be available to be on for the Economy 7 hours. It will heat the whole contents of the cylinder, and when up to the pre-set heat, will shut off. During the Economy 7 on times, it will come on again if the temperature drops below the pre-set level.