Search the forum,

Discuss advice, life swap in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

joeyraff

Hi there,

I was wondering if any one could advise or answer a few Q´s for me. My current situation is,

I’m 24, currently in the military but I’m looking to leave within the next two years. I’m a qualified personal trainer and am looking to do this along side a trade (self employed). I have a few friends that work as plumbers already so have been shadowing their work although it is limited at the moment (current eco climate).

My only option is to train part time and work full time so I can fund my training. So my questions are,

1. how long will it take to get to NVQ L3 part time (1 day a week at the centre, loads ofstudy time)?
2. how much will this training cost?
3. is the OLCI Newcastle any good?
4. do you think there is still a shortage of plumbers and will be in a couple of years time?
5. what is the earning potential for a self employed plumber in the north east?

Apologies if these questions are a bit basic, I have done some research but it would be nice to get some experienced feedback.

thanks

1 - You have to get NVQ Level 2 first. Mine took almost two years, two evenings a week. There are much quicker ways to do it, but my course only cost £600.

2. Don't know about Level 3. Like I said, Level two cost me £300 a year at a Government College (West Kent).

3. Don't know, from the south east, sorry!

4. I think there's a shortage of good plumbers, and a whole load of crap ones. As for a couple of years...yeah probably the need will still be there. Theres always people retiring/dying. So the industry always needs fresh talent.

5. Probably nothing like you'd hope for. £25K employed. £35K self employed with a good rep.

Are you TG 1 Joey?

(RAFF = RAF I presume), if so the general technical aspects of plumbing will come easily to you.