Search the forum,

Discuss Ableskills fastrack gas safe engineer course in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I have no previous experience in plumbing or any trade, however I am interested in training as a gas safe engineer. I am looking to do the fast track gas safe engineer course with able skills. My friend who is now a gas safe engineer working for a company said he did a course with able skills few years back but it wasn’t the fast track one as it took him nearly 2 years to complete.

He is telling me to do the level 2 plumbing course in college for 1 year then move on to gas course but im limited on time as I need to get finished on the course and start working as soon as I can.

My friend is happy for me to accompany him and learn from him. So is it wise for me to do the fast track course at able skills then go work with my friend for few months till I gain experience?

I would always do collage and training (eg an apprenticeship) like your friend said, you will struggle to get a job if you do decide to go down the fast track as you don't have any experience

Could you do night courses ?

I would always do collage and training (eg an apprenticeship) like your friend said, you will struggle to get a job if you do decide to go down the fast track as you don't have any experience

Hi Shaun,

Thanks for the reply.

So do you reckon I start with a level 2 plumbing course in college?
What do I do after that as I am struggling to find any gas courses in college.

Also I will be training with my friend after I complete the course, wouldn’t this be sufficient?

Hi Shaun,

Thanks for the reply.

So do you reckon I start with a level 2 plumbing course in college?
What do I do after that as I am struggling to find any gas courses in college.

Depends do you have any practical plumbing experience?

Also I will be training with my friend after I complete the course, wouldn’t this be sufficient?