Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 12 of 29
Plumbing & Plumbers Forum - Honeywell wireless not binding!!!
Like Tree6Likes

Honeywell wireless not binding!!!

Discuss Honeywell wireless not binding!!! at UK Plumbers Forums; Hi, at the best time of the year, I discover that my honeywell st9420c has lost its wireless connection with the room stat and now will not 'bind' with the ...
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Lightbulb Honeywell wireless not binding!!!

    Hi, at the best time of the year, I discover that my honeywell st9420c has lost its wireless connection with the room stat and now will not 'bind' with the unit. Following the instructions both units correctly go into the binding mode but it never compleates successfully! Anyone with know or similar experience please advise, Thanks

  2. #2
    Plumbers Arms member
    mountainman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    4,747
    Thanks
    498
    Thanked 346 Times in 336 Posts

    Default Re: Honeywell wireless not binding!!!

    I hate wireless controls.

    Have you put new batteries in the sender unit?
    Si hoc signum legere potes, operis boni in rebus Latinus alacribus et fructuosis potiri potes!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Honeywell wireless not binding!!!

    Yes, new batteries, units are next to each other so its not a distance thing, I'm beginning to dislike too, but its only about 16months old!!!!

  4. #4
    Plumbers Arms member
    mountainman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    4,747
    Thanks
    498
    Thanked 346 Times in 336 Posts

    Default Re: Honeywell wireless not binding!!!

    A new unit is required methinks.
    Si hoc signum legere potes, operis boni in rebus Latinus alacribus et fructuosis potiri potes!

  5. #5
    Member Dan Masey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    210
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

    Default Re: Honeywell wireless not binding!!!

    yep i had this mate with mine, i contacted honeywell directly, they sent me an email of a step by step guide which they do not put in the user guide or manuals online.

    here it is.



    REBINDING RF PACK - ST9420C PROGRAMMER TO THE DT92E ROOM THERMOSTAT


    FROM THE ST9420C PROGRAMMER


    Ensure the slider is in RUN


    Press and hold +, - and Heating mode buttons for 8 seconds


    BIND MENU will show briefly, followed by first binding display


    Use + and to select the Radiator symbol, Press OK


    If display shows -- -- - - nothing bound
    If display shows bnd something already bound


    (If you want to cancel existing binding press OK for 8 seconds and the display will say RESET for a few seconds), then


    Press OK to put in binding mode, display will flash BINDING ready to receive, ---- will flash




    FROM THE DT92E – HANDHELD THERMOSTAT


    Hold DT92E approximately 1 metre from ST9420C
    Press and hold the power button for 2 seconds
    Hold the and for 3 seconds until Inst is displayed
    Press and the display shows Cont
    Pressing the 3 times and the display shows CLr
    (Press the power button until --- if you want to clear existing binding data)
    To put into binding mode press the display will show Cont
    Press power button to send binding message display will show Sync up to
    4 minutes




    If binding has been successful bnd will be shown on the ST9420C and display will show COMPLETE for a few seconds and bnd will stop flashing


    If the binding was unsuccessful the ST9420C will show ----flashing


    To exit binding mode put slider to RUN on the ST9420C.

  6. #6
    Plumbers Arms member
    mountainman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    4,747
    Thanks
    498
    Thanked 346 Times in 336 Posts

    Default Re: Honeywell wireless not binding!!!

    Jeez, I'd run a cable and fit a wired 'stat.
    happyflyer and plumber0808 like this.
    Si hoc signum legere potes, operis boni in rebus Latinus alacribus et fructuosis potiri potes!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 105 Times in 99 Posts

    Default Re: Honeywell wireless not binding!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by mountainman View Post
    Jeez, I'd run a cable and fit a wired 'stat.

    You mean in the time it takes to bind???

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Honeywell wireless not binding!!!

    Thanks Dan, these are the instructions I followed. It just never actually successfully binds. Just continues to flash as if both units are still looking for each other, ending up timing out after 10 mins or so. I have been over it so many times, they must be a fault but in the controller or the room stat, who knows?

  9. #9
    Plumbers Arms member
    lame plumber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    North Devon by the sea
    Posts
    15,667
    Thanks
    120
    Thanked 918 Times in 887 Posts

    Default Re: Honeywell wireless not binding!!!

    change the frequency settings, could be a new computer wireless unit interfering,
    GSR? Want gas safety or boiler repair advice? We will check out that you're genuine via the gas safe website, so please dont be offended when we ask for your details. DIYers, odd job people and have a go heroes need not apply.

    My Landy goes anywhere, her Smart parks anywhere


    www.jcdheating.co.uk

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 105 Times in 99 Posts

    Default Re: Honeywell wireless not binding!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by lame plumber View Post
    change the frequency settings, could be a new computer wireless unit interfering,

    Lame,

    How many different channel are there on these units.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Honeywell wireless not binding!!!

    Lame, how do I change the frequency settings?

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 105 Times in 99 Posts

    Default Re: Honeywell wireless not binding!!!

    Yes Lame can't see it in the destructions

Everybody loves a good deal: Deals and Discounts on Dozens of Powertools!
Everybody loves a good deal: Deals and Discounts on Dozens of Powertools!

Similar Threads

  1. Honeywell CM921 Wireless Thermostat Problems
    By Robbo2013 in forum Central Heating Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 14-10-2013, 09:41 PM
  2. vokera vision / honeywell cm927 wireless programmer
    By richardd in forum Gas Safe Register Forum - Public Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27-05-2013, 12:52 PM
  3. replace old Honeywell T40 stat with Wireless DT92E
    By adriaan029 in forum Central Heating Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-11-2012, 09:26 AM
  4. Honeywell dt92e wireless help needed
    By plumbdoctor in forum Central Heating Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25-07-2011, 08:41 PM
  5. Help from you experts on honeywell dt92a wireless stat
    By plumbdoctor in forum Gas Safe Register Forum - Public Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-07-2011, 02:58 PM
  6. Honeywell dt92e wireless please help
    By plumbdoctor in forum Central Heating Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-07-2011, 01:50 PM
  7. honeywell wireless programmer & stat
    By ATN in forum Central Heating Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22-04-2011, 09:45 PM
  8. honeywell wireless programmer and Vaillant boiler
    By yacine in forum Plumbing Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-01-2010, 09:10 PM
  9. hi
    By mcmoby69 in forum New Member Introductions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22-08-2007, 12:08 AM

Visitors found this page by searching for:

honeywell st9420c

binding honeywell thermostat

honeywell dt92e problems

honeywell dt92e sync

honeywell cm921 troubleshooting

Tags for this Thread


Try our Talk Electrician Forum and our popular Tilers Forums for more free advice from professional tradesmen.
Tens of thousands of tradesmen and over 2 million combined posts.


Plumbers Forums is a community-driven forum shared between all members.